Way down yonder in…

As I made my way to New Orleans for the first time, back in 1973, I imagined what the French Quarter would be like: dirt streets, horse drawn buggies tied to hitching rails, men in high-button collars and ladies in long dresses and high button boots. Ridiculous, right? So, you can imagine my surprise when I arrived in the French Quarter and it was exactly how I’d imagined it.

The French Quarter

The French Quarter

And check out the guy with the old plate camera in the middle of the street.

So was I still asleep and dreaming, lulled into slumber by the gentle rocking motion and monotonous drone of the Greyhound bus I had boarded in San Antonio? No. It was all real. Well sort of. But something wasn’t right.

USA_BN_0195

Something had the townsfolk all riled up. Some where running towards the main street. Some were running away from it. And others were just standing there, as if transfixed by what was going on.

USA_BN_0194

I made my way to the corner to see what it was and then, mysteriously, the panic of a few moments ago dissipated and all these people were just walking around normally. But it wasn’t normal…because they were dressed differently. Well, almost all of them were.

USA_BN_0189

Then suddenly, I saw him, striding along the sidewalk with a look of determination on his face; and everyone started running again, afraid of what was about to go down.

USA_BN_0200

The man on a mission looked strangely familiar; but I didn’t know anyone in New Orleans; and I certainly didn’t know anyone who dressed like this guy. And yet, I knew him, or at least I recognized him from somewhere. Maybe I’d seen him in the bus depot. Or somewhere on my travels. Then, just when he reached the corner, he turned and…lookout! He’s got a gun.

USA_BN_0207

And in that instant, I realized who he was. He was nobody. A man called Nobody. Then a shot rang out…

USA_BN_0219

…and Nobody was no more.

He twisted and fell to the ground, laying there for a second. And then the director called: “CUT!”

They were making a movie called My Name is Nobody.

USA_BN_0191

And that was what happened the day I saw Henry Fonda gunned down on a street in New Orleans.

One more photograph, for Lucas

One more, for Lucas

On set, with Terence Hill

And a few more for Marc

Tonino Valerii (Director)

Stefano Rolla (Assistant Director)

USA_BN_0201

Unknown cast member

USA_BN_0211

Maurice Kowalewski
from one photographer to another

8 thoughts on “Way down yonder in…

  1. Wonderful pics and great story! Thanks for sharing. 🙂 The IMDB sight mentions some very interesting filming locations. How exciting to go from New Mexico to Spain to New Orleans.

  2. Uncanny pics of one of my favorite Italian Westerns… thanks so much for sharing! ( you could have taken one pic of hy hero Terence Hill…! He was right there close to you…on the other side of the duel. I shiver by the thought only.)

  3. I was born in New Orleans in 1973. Maurice Kowalewski was my uncle. 🙂 Thank you for this article… it was a nice surprise seeing a picture of Uncle Moe at the bottom of your post, along with all the other great pictures.

Leave a Reply

