How time flies

Twenty years ago today I held a newborn baby in my arms for the first time. And in those twenty years there have been many more firsts in my life that would not have happened but for him.

Happy birthday, Ewen; all grown up and far away. Though the miles that separate us prevent me from shaking your hand, know that there is not a day goes by that I don’t think of you, and wish you well, and safe, and happy – but especially today.

So, have a good one. And many more to come.

5 thoughts on “How time flies

  1. Wonderful memories and beautiful wishes. Time, my friend, does indeed fly. Alexandre turned 11 last month. I don’t know how these things happened when you and I haven’t aged at all in that period!

  2. Happy Birthday to both of you! I feel like my sons’ birthdays are my birthdays, as really, that’s when life truly began for me.

    I knew no real joy until then. I knew no real fear until then. And what a jumble of both it’s been since then!

  3. Happy birthday, Ewen 🙂
    Happy birthday to Ewen’s Mom & Dad, too.

    The miracle of having a child is beyond words, but the love which makes us, parents, let them go and spread their wings is one of the most difficult things to do.
    Good luck, Ewen. Take care of your precious self. You are loved deeply by your Dad, I see it and read it in every word.

  4. Lovely sentiment, beautifully said. Ewen is lucky to have you as his father.

    Please pass along my happy birthday wishes from Minnesota!

Leave a Reply

