A new beginning

I found redemption in Singapore International Airport

2012 is here. Actually, it has been here for almost three weeks already but I’ve been preoccupied. For the first week and a half I was travelling; then I spent the next week trying to overcome a bad head cold I’d developed while travelling; and by then the Australian tennis season had started and because I didn’t feel like doing much else I started watching. In fact, I’m watching right now, as I write this (Isner -v- Lopez). My cold has almost gone; but I’m hooked on tennis now. All good reasons for not doing something constructive with 2012.

But this is the season for resolutions and I was asked earlier this month what mine for 2012 was going to be. I replied, fatuously, that I had resolved not to make any unachievable resolutions. Conveniently, one that I could  achieve by doing nothing!  Then yesterday I read a post that I recommend to anyone who has the time to read it;  and I find that it has inspired me to try to develop a more positive attitude this year.

The question is, how will I know if I have achieved my goal? Having recently escaped from a role in management, I’m all too familiar with CSFs and KPIs but rather than become obcessively analytical about the whole thing I’ll simply establish a baseline against which my performance throughout the year can be measured.

Here, then, is my 2012 baseline.

7 thoughts on “A new beginning

  1. I *love* your “baseline,” Xpat. Best wishes for a happy, healthy 2012 … whether you choose to set any goals or achieve them — or not. And thanks for the link, too. I’m honored.

  2. Can’t help but notice the shared last names here.

    Read your post Heather. Yes, so much of this last year has been defined by our diagnoses.

    I too am tired of defining myself this way, and appreciate what you’ve written.

    Keith, I’m the fella that has one foot on the platform, the other on the train…

    :o)

    • John, good to hear from you. As far as we know, Heather and I are only related spiritually. She is the guiding spirit. I am the methylated one. And I beg you not to get on this train. Choose a different one. One that doesn’t pass through a tunnel of darkness and solitude. After all, you can’t take photographs where there is no light. 🙂

  3. I am glad to see you’re back, Keith. Reading you is as always thought provoking, indeed.
    Thanks for the link, very poignant reading. Lots to think and ponder about–as life is.

    • Hello Ann. Yes, I’m back; and because of events that occurred during my absence, more doubtful and pessimistic than ever. That’s why I needed Heather’s story to shock me back to life.

Leave a Reply

