The curse of the eclectic

From time to time, people ask me whether I think it is better to photograph a wide variety of subjects in different styles (e.g. to demonstrate one’s versatility), or to pick a single theme and style and build a portfolio around them; and I generally reply that what is most important, is to do what feels right to YOU!  Yet this question haunts me too; and I find myself dissatisfied with my own advice. I find that, in the work of the photographers I admire most, there is a common theme and a consistent style. Is this a simply a coincidence? Or is there something more compelling, more appealing about a body of work that has an inherent homogeneity? And if this is what I like about their work, why is it that I don’t find myself working that way? My thoughts on these questions are expanded here.

Leave a Reply

